Appendix II: Recording Areas & Bird Observatories

Recording Areas

For a full definition, see the article “Recording Areas of Great Britain” by D. K. Ballance & A. J. Smith (BB 101: 364-375). The recognised recording areas are:

Cornwall, Isles of Scilly, Devon, Somerset, Avon, Wiltshire, Dorset, Hampshire, Isle of Wight, Sussex, Kent, Surrey, Essex, Hertfordshire, Greater London, Berkshire, Oxfordshire, Buckinghamshire, Suffolk, Norfolk, Cambridgeshire, Bedfordshire, Northamptonshire, Gloucestershire, Herefordshire, Worcestershire, Warwickshire, West Midlands, Staffordshire, Shropshire, Lincolnshire, Leicestershire & Rutland, Nottinghamshire, Derbyshire, Cheshire & Wirral, Lancashire & North Merseyside, Greater Manchester, Yorkshire, Cleveland, Durham, Northumberland, Cumbria

Gwent, Glamorgan, Breconshire, Radnorshire, Montgomeryshire, Meirionnydd, Caernarfonshire, Anglesey, Denbighshire, Flintshire, Carmarthenshire, Pembrokeshire, Ceredigion

Isle of Man

Shetland, Fair Isle, Orkney, Outer Hebrides, Caithness, Highland, Moray & Nairn, North-east Scotland, Angus & Dundee, Perth & Kinross, Fife, Isle of May, Upper Forth, Argyll, Clyde Islands, Clyde, Ayrshire, Lothian, Borders, Dumfries & Galloway

At Sea

Each Recording Area (except ‘At Sea’) has five votes in elections for Voting Members

Bird Observatories

Bird Observatories have to be members of the Bird Observatories Council. Those from Northern Ireland are excluded. The recognised bird observatories are:

Barsdey, Calf of Man, Dungeness, Fair Isle, Filey, Flamborough, Gibraltar Point, Hilbre, Holme, Isle of May, Landguard, North Ronaldsay, Portland, Sandwich Bay, Skokholm, Spurn, Walney

Each Bird Observatory (unless also a Recording Area) has two votes in elections for Voting Members

Previous page        Next page